Cycling for people with paralysis: how do we researchers and citizens contribute to more testing and usability of technologies like FES?

The other day cycling home, I saw a person, probably living with spinal cord injury using his hands to pedal, a really rare sight in Italy. I’m a keen cyclist for transport and leisure, but my profession is also research in devices enhancing the mobility for people with physical limitations. Therefore I feel an obligation to spread the news about recent advancements in cycling for physically challenged. Have you heard about FES cycling?

FES - short for functional electrical stimulation - can be used to activate paralyzed muscles by impulses imitating the nervous system in the most natural way possible. We have come a long way with our research and it is possible to use this technique to let people with paralyzed legs cycle again. For some reason there are very few people who know about this so I’d like to share this knowledge with you.

We cycle to move, but also to maintain fit. It can be both fun and functional. But, if your legs don’t obey you anymore, you will probably not consider it a possibility. Paralyzed legs can result from an accident breaking your back, a stroke or a sneaking disease like the multiple sclerosis.

People caring for and curing you need to be very pragmatic, and you with them. Mobility then becomes reduced to passive transport, a dietetic approach to avoiding getting fat and medication of pressure sores and other side effects from lack of physical exercise. That’s where the publicly unknown FES research comes into play. Years of clinical research have consolidated the benefits, but we need to spread the news and understand more about it. Some people may already have heard of handbikes. They allow you to cover greater distances than manual wheelchairs. They are special tricycles where you use the hands for pedaling.