Hi, nice to meet you

My name is Kei Kreutler. I’m relatively new to the Edgeryders community, and I’ve been living at the unMonastery Matera prototype since mid-February, working on establishing a node of OpenTechSchool.

Coming from a background in a range of areas from visual arts to computer science, I strongly believe that knowledge in any form - from skills grouped as “technical” to more “creative” practices - should be accessible. Often all it takes is interest and a fun, supportive and socially engaging approach.

Instagram from OpenTechSchool workshop for kids on Arduino Day.

With OpenTechSchool, I’m hosting a series of workshops on topics in which people in Matera have communicated interest. While initially taking an open, project-based approach, I’ve found it helps to offer concrete topics of interest and take specific project development from there.

However, it’s been difficult to get off the ground, despite hosting several workshops a week. Ultimately it takes some time to establish a school, let alone one development project, in the space of 2 months. Specific challenges have been the English-Italian language difficulty and the lack of a clear and targeted channel(s) of communication.

I’m posting here a series of workshops I’ve planned for the next few weeks that aim to incorporate some of the interests of Materani, as well as bolster projects initiated at the unMonastery, including unMonastery Analytics and the Mapping the Commons collective effort.

It would be of enormous help to have the workshop descriptions and call for collaborators translated into Italian so that I could make a clear communication push and share the calendar. Of course, any contributions and suggestions to the workshops would be more than welcome!

Thank you for your help. I greatly look forward to getting to know the Edgeryders community more and lending a hand in turn. :slight_smile:

OpenTechSchool Matera workshop topics

Open Studio