Self-Introduction

Hi everybody!

My name is Katya, I am currently a DPhil candidate in Politics. Since 2018 I have lived in London.

It’s great to have found this community. I’ve been dreaming about the opportunity to find the place where different people could freely share their ideas and knowledge.

Initially, I studied psychological aspects of new social movements, looking at motivational factors of the participation (attitudes and motives of activists). Today, my thesis applies the logic of populism to explain mass mobilisation in Russia and Western Europe. I consider the role of psychological factors in the spread of populism.

I also teach political communication, so I am very interested in persuasion strategies applied by populists.

I would be very happy to connect with people with similar interests.

5 Likes

Hello again @Katia, I’m glad you finally made it here :slight_smile: Don’t hesitate to browse conversations on the platform and jump in here and there with a comment, that’s actually the spirit, and there no need to be invited into the discussions,

Did @Jan already introduce you to others here who are part of academia and are helping study populism?
@Maniamana is in Warsaw, @Jirka_Kocian @SZdenek and @jitka.kralova in Prague.
One of our colleagues @Djan helped is hosting this conversation where you might jump in with resources:

On a personal level, may I ask where are you from, how come you moved abroad? My own story is of leaving Romania to live in Belgium is here:

Which kinds of factors do you have in mind? Knowing more about your work will make it easier to connect you with others who are doing things or sharing views !

Hi Katia,
We are doing an ethnographic study, so a different kind of social sciences than psychology. Hi, nevertheless - glad you find ER interesting, there are many more topics here to explore other than our study!

1 Like

Thank you so much for the introduction @noemi !