Access Space, A New Model for Individual and Community Development

Based in the heart of Sheffield, Access Space is the UK’s longest-running free internet learning centre, with thousands of participants making use of it every year – and it has achieved this without spending a penny on computers or software. Its model has inspired centres across Europe, while MetaReciclagem – a Brazilian initiative directly informed by Access Space – has now grown to a network of almost a hundred centres.

I founded Access Space in 2000 - but I had the idea in 1996 - when I started an arts project called “Redundant Technology Initiative”. I’m an artist, and I wanted to use my art practice to show the true situation in Sheffield, the city where I live. Sheffield has suffered structural problems from massive industrial change - the city used to be based on Coal mining and the Steel industry. Now the coal mines are closed, and the Steel mills are manned by robots. There is a very high level of unemployment in the city, and much of the employment that there is is in the public sector - most adults work for the government!

Working as an artist, I saw that the city was failing to adapt to the emerging information economy - South Yorkshire had the lowest uptake of information technology in the UK. Meanwhile, I was making art from trash that I found in skips. Not only was the trash free (yes!) it seemed to me to be the most suitable material with which to make art about urban decline.

Then I started to find computers in the trash. I collected them, with the idea that I would make robot sculptures and other crazy artworks. I was amazed to discover, after some experimentation, that most of the PCs I recovered actually worked! I started to think about why people were throwing these machines away - when the city had a low level of engagement with information technology.