Advantage this disadvatages

I have been told I have too much experience, I have been told I do not have any, I have been told I am to young or to old. I have been told I am way ahead of myself to be applying for a certain job, or not courageous enough to apply for another.

I have been applying for jobs for 8 years in 3 countries and honestly I dont have a clue what recruiters want. There can not be obviously a universal system of recruitment, but there are some best practice guidelines that recruiters seem to be forgetting. Like disregarding the candidates nationality. Although there are several NGO`s fighting against this kind of discrimination, there is still a lot to be done.

I personally feel disadvantaged by my nationality here in Scotland. Consciously or not, but recruiters do take into consideration the candidate`s background. Otherwise why would the first question asked during an interview be “So where are you from exactly?” or “Do you have a working permit in the UK?” and assuming that I do not?

My mission is to transform my background into an asset. So far it has been a struggle, so in a way I have to believe that recruitment is like a lottery and that I am very very lucky.

Hi Anca,

One can easily sense

Hi Anca,

One can easily sense the frustration behind these recruitment experiences.

Listen, from what you’re saying I tend to think the problem is not the interviewing, but what’s behind it, apparently discrimination or lack of trust, stereotyping maybe…  At Edgeryders we just begin to look at these issues in our new campaign Living Together, but didn’t even want to put them on the table per se - check this out http://edgeryders.ppa.coe.int/page/plural-and-pluralistic-societies because we wanted a fresh outlook that’s genuinely constructive…

What about those 8 years you’ve been applying for jobs? can it be that sometimes you just weren’t qualified? Also, it wasn’t always unsuccessful, was it? What kind of jobs were you looking for?