Beginnings of a Creative Path

I’m an artist, photographer and animator based in Galway, Ireland. I got a chance to be part of an exhibition with Galway Design Hub painting pallet furniture. It was part of An Áit Eile’s “What Now?” event at Arus na nGael and the Arts Centre in the heart of the city. I remember arriving at the venue, there was an energy there that was contagious, it was electric. All of these people coming together to create an event, to celebrate design. I am big into animation and drawing, I love photography, I’m in first year of art college where i’m involved with the CCAFS (Climate Change Agriculture and Food Security) society in the National University of Ireland (NUIG). One thing I helped with was clothes swaps, to try to counteract the issues around clothing production.

I’ve just participated in AÁE’s pre-unMonastery event, a “Rural Reconnaissance” at Cregg Castle. What interested me about coming to Cregg was the idea of different people getting together with a myriad of skills, living together, using a space and learning from each other, in pretty much every way possible. It’s exciting!

Design for the Pop Up Village event?

@Sarah_Kinneen welcome to edgeryders! I’ve been to Galway twice last spring and unfortunately didn’t come across a clothing swap shop or event, but would have loved to! Is there a permanent setup?