Experiments in resilience in a small UK market-town

For 6 years I have been involved with Transition Stroud - one of over 300 initiatives globally attempting to deal with the issues of climate change, peak oil and economic turmoil through practical local projects and community-building. I am now one of 12 Directors of the Limited Company we set up to run various projects, and network the multitude of other organisations working locally on these and related issues.

In some ways, I feel like I am building my personal resilience - I am a qualified cycle mechanic (Cytek Level 1, which is a basic qualification, since you ask, but enough to get me by on my bike and help others), I cycle for almost all the journeys I make (thus am much less affected than most, at least directly, when oil prices spike), I grow some of my own food on an Allotment (in England, small patches of land are rented to people for small sums of money by local authorities), and I have a good network of friends and acquaintances in my street and local town who I know will all pull together to help each other when the need arises. But, while I’m developing my academic and work skills by studying for a PhD (on the resilience of certain organisations), beginning to work as a Lecturer, and volunteering on all manner of projects, I am extremely uncertain about the future, and about how our community might cope in the long-term following significant shocks. Though I feel like I have a good understanding of what the term ‘resilience’ means in everyday speech, and in various academic fields, I am less certain what it looks like in practice - at least, I am unsure what a community or society truly resilient to the enormous shocks we face in the future would look like.

In particular, I am concerned about producing enough food locally (not reliant on long-distance transport), and about employment - and the effects increased transportation costs have on the ability of people to travel to work.