Hackuarium: Rachel

Open Village is a way of making an international community. In terms of Open care, maybe it is a way of making us more empowered and ultimately more healthy. I am a biologist, esp involved in an open science group called Hackuarium. Our cells are really important aspects of our health and the health of future generations. There are lots of things that we do that we could choose to do differently. Genomic integrity = DNA as dynamic (and in concert with all the molecules of cells)! not super fixed in stone. There’s damage and repair of DNA and reg of DNA expression, for example. At least half of all cancers could be prevented. Stem cells and mutations and cancer, because all of our cells have to mutate in different ways. Genomic integrity. The idea at Hackuarium is that there are simple methods to look at DNA damage that people could do with groups and with other people. With a toothbrush you could do a lot of inner cheek cells to look at! òne guy who was a smoker, and his nucleus even looked bigger than ordinary?? want to get lots of data to see if any observations really hold.Could contribute by trying to convince people to make our futures better. Hackuarium is totally volunteer, no one has extra money, we tend to mix engineers and biologists and designers, and therefore we have a really transdisciplinary practice. we prefer DIT, not DIY, getting more from learning continually…

1 Like

Wow, @rachel, this is tantalizing, but I do not quite understand it. Is it normal or counterintuitive that a smoker’s cells have bigger nuclei? And: what do you mean by [quote=“rachel, post:1, topic:7512”]
Could contribute by trying to convince people to make our futures better.
[/quote]

?

the ‘big nuclei’ remark was really a one off observation from a workshop last spring. I really want to get everyone doing these expts on themselves, with good annotation and imaging one should be able to see if there is really any obvious difference in smokers…