Hi Edgeryders

Hi Edgeryders

I’m Scott.

I’ve known about your community for a while now and I’m really excited to finally get the chance to join with you all.

I live in London and for work I head up the artistic programme for an arts charity, where we try to regenerate urban areas together with the communities that inhabit them– sometimes this works and sometimes it doesn’t.

Recently we’ve moved from relatively short-term commissions and artist residencies to focus on building infrastructure such as subsidised housing for artists - so I’m really excited to start reading the posts on place and participation and hopefully join in the conversation.

My background is in informal arts education where I’ve worked on lots of different projects with young people, from developing video games and short films with them to building playgrounds.

I’m really happy to be here and get the chance to learn from you all.

4 Likes

Hello @scott, welcome! I am alberto, one of the old-timers in the community. Very good to meet you.

This sounds intriguing, and I would like to know more. Do you mean in a physical sense (“let’s make a colorful mural on that wall yonder”)? Or in an immaterial sense (“there are now ethnic street food happy hours at the local pub every other Tuesday”)? Or both?

Also: what do you find not to work?

Hi @alberto really good to meet you too.

I’ve just read your post on Place-based social innovation and I think thats what we try to do and that this happens in both a physical and immaterial sense, usually together.