Interview with Marcel Schouwenaar: Are housing cooperatives the future?

Marcel presenting the IoT Design Manifesto @ Next '16 Hamburg

Recently as part of my Edgeryders fellowship in the Internet of Humans program, I had the opportunity to interview designer and technologist — and long time collaborator — Marcel Schouwenaar (@Marcel, Twitter). Marcel co-founded Rotterdam-based design studio The Incredible Machine, helped kickstart ThingsCon in the Netherlands, co-authored the IoT Design Manifesto and recently has been exploring the cooperative movement, especially housing co-ops.

Below, the transcript of our interview, slightly edited for easier reading. Enjoy, and share your thoughts!

Here goes!

Peter:
Marcel, would you maybe first just tell us a little bit about your background and then we can start from there.

Marcel:
So my name is Marcel Schouwenaar. I’m a designer by trade and I’ve been working in the field of emerging technologies for the last 10ish years. Mainly as a consultant working with companies trying to implement new ideas around IoT or blockchain, doing a lot of concept work. A couple of years ago, we got a little bit the itch about what technology is, you know — the impact of technology. Considering what is ethical was not ethical. We ran into some issues there ourselves and from then on, we commit ourselves to creating more ethical technology.