Intro — Emile

Hi All, Just a quick intro to prime the pump. I’m an embedded engineer with nascent projects on the communications in the low bandwidth and 100 km range that feed into some of the ideas expressed by ssb. I’m still searching for the sticky technology that would make this work, and be simple enough to use. I’m also the occasional data analyst on ssb, measuring the growth of the network.

5 Likes

Hi Emelie, and welcome! By ssb, I suppose you mean Secure Scuttlebutt? I’m on those networks myself, though admittedly not very actively in the last couple of months.

Could you say more about this?

1 Like

Hej @hugi

Yup, ssb as secure scuttlebutt.

I’m still searching for the sticky technology that would make this work
Could you say more about this?

By sticky I mean that it can grow at a ß > 1, in the long-term. Much of the technology in the 100km rf range is quite limiting that growth is less than 1, where ham radio exists. For example ham radio is a niche that requires expertise, and has a fairly flat user base.

Using a crow-amsaa method ß is greater than 1, ssb meets some of these goals, but has a last mile problem, that requires the occasional internet for connectivity.

growth

1 Like

I see. That’s fascinating. When I was in high school I had a short but passionate infatuation with picking up VLF signals with my computer sound card. I never thought of that in connection to SSB before but that’s certainly a cool thought.

I’m curious, where does your interest in achieving long distance digital communication without an internet connection come from? Is it because of an instinct of trying to build resilient communication capacity, or more of a “because I can” sort of thing?

1 Like

I’m curious, where does your interest in achieving long distance digital communication without an internet connection come from? Is it because of an instinct of trying to build resilient communication capacity, or more of a “because I can” sort of thing?