Kooperatywa Izerska: how did it build a rural community and what attracts people to it?

I am based in Poland, in a rural area and community which created the initiative called Kooperatywa Izerska (website: http://kooperatywaizerska.org/), but at the same time I’m doing a Phd in alternative management, with permaculture management. I’m close to my field of study, which is the dispersed community living in a rural area in Poland. It’s rather a case study than a general theory on how to introduce the people to rural areas.

In this area there is a lot of new immigration from the cities - from Warsaw, Wroclaw, and from different countries, not only from Poland, because the land for the past years was quite cheap to buy. There was this fashion/trend to have an old stylish house in the rural areas. It goes also with the food sovereignty movement and trying to keep the quality of food in this area, and preserving the traditional ways of cultivating the land and keeping the seeds, creating a food bank for them.

Even though it’s called a cooperative, the community has very diverse activities, also cultural ones.
The group is very fluent, it depends what the initiator of the activity is: for example - someone working with seeds gets help with harvesting by other people. We have maybe 10 active people who initiate activities like this, managing the cooperative to not lose the contact with farmers…

In the session about bringing back human potential to rural areas, there was one question about how do you convince people about the rural alternative.