Life of change

I am an artist, gardener, humanitarian, mother, traveler… My life has been and continues to be full of journeys of all types, and every time I wake up, I am just as glad to see whatever weather and challenges the day will bring, as I am to see if I can get online (or not…).

For me, life is interconnected. Online and analog; sand, compost-soil-building and xeriscaping; humans and the multi-million other species also called “earthlings;” crisis-management, sustainability, and humanitarian projects; energy, the arts, memory and the future. I think the “Golden Rule” is a good thing; I wonder, if Archimedes had known about the relative powers of electricity, if he would have used a rod and fulcrum, or waves and a source-point?

English is my first language, the one I can usually spell properly. I have learned, of necessity, to communicate in various other languages, but do not claim to spell properly, nor always to use the most appropriate phrases. For me, language is like cuisine-- every nation, region, town, community, family has their own special ingredients to flavor their daily fare. Asian cinnamon is somewhat different from south American cannelle; the spice can be used in entrees, drinks and desserts, in dishes savory and sweet, or to preserve, scent, or color. The shades of flavor, scent, of words and intent, vary by culture, by access, by necessity.

And this potpourri of ingredients, the colors, sounds, scents, flavors, the memories certain incidents or articles evoke, make up the life I live, the lives we share-- here, in Edgeryders, here, online, here, on Earth. People have many pasts, many needs, many dreams for their futures. Our evolutionary paths have enabled us to visualize change, verbalize desires, achieve goals far beyond the capabilities of many of our fellow “earthlings.”