Mobilizing parents to offer care irrespective of their own hurdles

I have been a kindergarten teacher in public schools for 22 years. Looking back at my childhood, I was surrounded by my village’s scents, friendly voices and the care of the neighborhood. Having this background, I moved on to study pedagogics, eventually becoming a wife and mother of three children. Since then, my constant self-discovery voyage with pupils, parents, and teachers who never stop learning and reforming is still going on.

The “Tree of Life’ is the outcome of my fulfilled dream in building an extraordinary school in nature. A place where learning is accomplished experientially, in harmony and interaction with the natural environment, aiming to lead children on a wonderful quest. The "Tree of Life” is a non-profit organization founded in June 2013. The idea was born from a group of people coming from different walks of life, who as citizens and as parents share similar concerns and dreams for the next generation. The world with values, morals, respect for fellow human beings and the environment, faith in the teamwork and creating. ‘Together we can change our world…’ is the motto of our association in an effort to stress the anthropocentric aspect of life.  Our vision is to train a group of people who will form the core of a community where teamwork is based on creativity, meritocracy and joy rather than apathy, ignorance, indifference, and irresponsibility. The world that dares, cares, dreams, contests, and helps, and is doing so by changing whatever it doesn’t like, and at any cost. The common denominator of this endeavor is the need for collaboration, solidarity, and offering without expecting personal benefits, the urge to defy fatigue and readiness to reduce one’s “valuable” personal time. Through our actions, we expect to restart - both financially as well as mentally. We believe that every problem has a solution and every day we keep working on this.