MoE (aka Map of Emergence)

Hi everybody,

my name is Stefano Cieri and I’m an Italian designer and VFX artist (as I briefly mentioned on my profile page when I joined EdgeRyders, literally years ago).

Since I joined, I’ve been silent but I read a lot of what was happening here. I always felt a mix of awe, for such a top-notch example of collective intelligence at work, and true frustration, for being horrible at actively contributing to online discussions.

The reasons why I’m that “elusive” (as @Alberto once described me smiley) are many; I won’t bother you with those, but please trust me: it is not lazyness.

Being a designer involved in sustainable development, and passionate for complex systems, my interest for Edgeryders is some way self-evident. What I can add to what you’ll guess already, is that I really appreciate the Novelty of the practices which the Ryders are experimenting (and the subtlelties they imply).

I feel I share that enthusiasm, the vision (and the concerns), and truly believe in many of the ideas discussed and promoted here, the good way.

In my daily life I work as a VFX artist, trying to surf the inconsistencies between the pointlessness of the markets I contribute feeding, and the difficulties in actualizing an alternative and constructive way of dealing with my profession.

In a cached, parallel life, I work on a hyper-long-term project, experimenting non-real-time forms of collaboration and knowledge collection.

This sounds cryptic (and a bit silly) but all it means, really, is:

I think and discuss with friends a moltitude of projects and ideas, whenever we have time; meanwhile, we figure out ways to work on those as part of a single higher-level project about plausible, sustainable futures.