More wood for the 🔥

Hello everyone :raising_hand_man:t4:

This is my first topic here on the Edge Ryders webspace, so I hope I’m doing it right. My wish is to both introduce myself and open another space for introductions :fire:

So, my name is Danilo and I was born in what is currently known as Brazil. I have spent most of my life in these tropical lands, but I was lucky enough to do quite a lot of traveling, specially while I was a student at a nomadic college.

Education has literally changed my life. I grew up in a peripheral region of SĂŁo Paulo and attended the precarious public school system up until high school. At that time, I got a full scholarship in one of the best private schools in the country, which presented me new horizons. From there, I joined SĂŁo Paulo State University as a Mechanical Engineering student. After two years, I realized that was not what I wanted, so I applied to Minerva (twice) and went on to travel the world as a Social & Computer science major.

It seems, though, that two years are the maximum I can handle in structured learning programs. So in the fall of 2017 I took a gap year from Minerva to explore a growing passion: Complexity Sciences. That gap was never closed and I didn’t return to school.

However, I kept on learning (a lot) since then, mostly as an independent researcher and content creator freelancer. Such a journey has led me to initiate and engage with different types of networks of learners and researchers, as well co-create with them. It took me some time to discover that many people do similar things as I do, and that there’s a whole art & science to this practice. Therefore, I’m always happy to come across hubs such as Edge Ryders.