My continuous ryde in achieving success

Hi, I’m Amalia Diosteanu, a 22-year-old student in the third year at International Business and Economics at the Academy of Economic Studies in Bucharest.

When I think of myself I see an ambitious and proactive person, who is always trying to grow both personally and professionally. I have always done my best to grasp knowledge and to learn from past experience in order to become a better person for myself and the community I live in.

When I was 11, my parents went to Italy to seek a better life for my family and I had to follow them. Having had to go through all the changes - leaving my country, my friends, my home, my habits behind - and through my experience in Italy helped me become more open to the new and more self confident. I stayed there for 9 years and all this time I tried to make the most out of my studies and of the interpersonal relationships. I graduated from a foreign languages high school that gave me the opportunity to cultivate my passion for new cultures and international exchanges. Actually, I was part of two such exchanges, one in France and the other in Sweden. These experiences made me become aware of the cultural differences between the peoples and the particularities of each of them.

Finishing high school, I realized I wanted to come back to Romania and do my Bachelor studies there. The International Business and Economics faculty seemed the right choice as it offered me the chance to look more deeply into the issues of international economy and to better understand how the world around me works. Admission to this faculty proved to be a hard task as I had to pass exams at subjects that were unfamiliar for me because I had been studying in Italy. However, I am used to having to work hard for I want. Things have never been easy, but determination and dedication are the ‘fuels’ in the ryde to success.