My experience as volunteer and member in a political party

We’d all like to vote for the best man, but he’s never a candidate-Frank McKinney.

I joined the party (a local branch of a Romanian party) in the spring of 2008, but it was not this moment which was my first contact with party life. I was a student in Political Science, which motivated my decision to join in. I always thought parties should put into practice what the books said. Secondly, I chose an opposition party, because I thought being in the opposition would make it put all force and energy to identify the most efficient resources to reach its goal. But eventually it turned out the nature of politics is different from theory.

Back to joining the party. I was starting from the bottom, with no kind of support. I participated in campaigning activities, worked almost 2 years as a volunteer for the party. The atmosphere seemed friendly and favorable. I didn’t meet party leaders at these events, since as a beginner you don’thave any voice. After 2 years I got a job in one of the youth party organizations. It became a faster pace. During these last years I noticed that elections are mostly pre-settled. Long before them, you used to know who will fill in those positions; this stands for all types of elections, no matter what level.

There would be, however, 3 more possibilities to gain access as a candidate: 1)  2, maximum 3 places are kept for those members unsatisfied, but without the majority support; the majority is priorly taught into how to vote; 2) financial means, that is, if you can afford to support all sorts of party actions; 3) lastly,but secondary, is if you’re the kind of person repeating everything you hear, loudly echoing what others are saying even when not understanding – the ”speaking trumpet” man; otherwise, you just leave yourself to the system and accept to be pushed away.