Postcard from Baltimore

This is a picture from the Quarantine Jam that we organized two week ago in Trust in Play: this one was a playtest of a game where we were giving each other tasks, I asked everybody to show me some skin.

“What are you doing in life?”

I’m a game designer and in this moment I’m teaching/ managing a Game Lab (http://gamelab.mica.edu/) for 75% of my time, and coordinating a branch of a project called Trust in Play (https://community.trustinplay.eu/) - the European School of Urban Game Design. On the side I have other design-based activity to keep me busy.

For the first part, we switched our activities online (this by the way is the first time in 10 years that I have a steady income so I fell really privileged). For Trust in Play I was coordinating the Nomadic branch, with Trainees all over the world, so we were already in a digital realm.

“What worries you the most about your situation now?”

I’m worried of a new reality in which physical human interaction will be discouraged.
I’m worried for my health (and my weight).
I’m worried for my relationship.

“What makes you hopeful about the future?”

I hope that we find a vaccine soon.

“If you are becoming more communal or not, are you going to do things differently? which ones?”

I don’t know my neighbours, literally I don’t know (and never cared) about who is living next door. I think this is something that I’m going to fix soon, but is only because of this extreme situation.

A lesson that life is teaching you:

Don’t over-design or fast-design. Brain power is limited and as humans we are not that good at predicting stuff.

4 Likes

I understand the deep fear that is almost metaphysical… but how do you think this is going to affect your job? Are you hopeful about game versions that can and will be played online, and the opportunities for innovation in designing for a near future with less sociality as we know it?
This is such a creative field that it could open up endless possibilities…