‘Small communities within a bigger community’ - learning from Happy Pigeons in Berlin

This post is the result of an interview produced and edited by @Noemi.

I studied Business Psychology and got in touch with housing and property management, bookkeeping etc. when working with my family’s business. With my brother, we realised it’s not the thing to do, quite boring. After this first experience, I moved to France for a Master in Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management. The second touching point for coliving was this: as a class, we were 23 people in a very international group bonding very well, hanging out in the weekends and studying together. I learned what it is to be inside a community. In the student residency it was the opposite, everyone had their studio apartment, but no common areas, so just saying hello and bye on the corridor. I was also working on a student consulting for a coliving in London, and I got to know about coliving. At that time we were thinking with my brother we should do something in Berlin.

We started Happy Pigeons right after I came back from France, but took a long time. We wanted to rent something, but didn’t find it. The landlords were not convinced. Took us half a year to find something, and in the end, even if it wasn’t intended as such, it was the family business.

Photo source: Happy Pigeons Co-living Facebook page

We were founding the company in 2016, and the first 3 room apartment was in March 2017, in Prenzlauer Berg. Since then we have been growing organically - in the first house, but also in the 2nd location in Charlottenburg, with 2 apartments for 5 people. All apartments we have are old building apartments, kind of community style. All have common spaces: livingroom and kitchen, as well as 1-2 bathrooms per apartment. You have small communities within a big community. We decided to keep it this way and not have one huge common space - it could have the opposite effect and everyone would stay in their room.