Street games and Refugee Crisis

Hi Edgeryders!

I’m sitting in the living room of the Open Village House (dar Nezza) in Sidi Kaouki right now, close to the fire that @johncoate started as every night since we are here, after a delicious dinner cooked from our housemaster @hazem <3

https://scontent-mad1-1.cdninstagram.com/vp/160064fc42fb333117251b23323390d2/5B048E6A/t51.2885-15/e35/27574518_183549745584845_8501494167334027264_n.jpg
- Spot the donkey in the picture -

The timing couldn’t be better to share both one idea that I’m working on since November, and how being actively involved in Edgeryders already re-shaped and modified this idea and my process.

Maybe that could be useful to all the people that are in Edgeryders and still didn’t grasp yet (as I did for years) how powerful this community could be on helping them with their project / professions / lives

<<< fast rewind <<<
my background is in Architecture (Urban Planning) and since 2009 I’ve started exploring urban games as a tool to change our cities from the bottom, use more the public space and create creative communities around that.

Our first project, CriticalCity Upload , was a pervasive game (which means that could be played everywhere and in every moment) that asked players to perform tasks in the public space.
A task could be, Hugs 10 strangers /
Sing a song out loud /
walk barefoot for 1 km /
improve a bench …etc…

Every year we have +100 tasks on the website and players could pick up their favorite, go outside, perform the tasks, take picture and videos, upload everything on the platform and get points (for a total amount of lot of creative stuff to do :slight_smile:

It was a crazy adventure (4 full-time years of community management / event production / business models / pitch competition / night drives / weekend around Italy / etc) and a pretty successful one too, here is a website (in italian, sorry) with all the missions done (there were 20.000 at the end) by all our players (13.000).