TANDA updates - notes from the last community call

Attendees

@matthias
I am just one of the people who founded this edgeryders in 2013 do mostly the tech part in the platform, right now in Germany living in a truck, on the call in the truck based on solar electricity
and have some side project in Nepal will be going to live there soon may be for longer.

@shajara

from California but my family is from Egypt , study political science and literature, got involved in social health and social innovation and currently in Berlin.

@hazem
coordinating this calls in edgeryders community and have different interests in urban research and development.

@islem joined us as well in the discussion part.

@Sofien-Dahem

from Tunisia originally from south from Gabes , known for being an oasis that has a view on the coast it is the only one in the world , studied industrial design and a self-taught illustrator, worked a bit as a designer but the industrial design mentality is not implemented in Tunisia, switching between illustrator jobs, member of the comic con community in Tunisia , the 3rd edition is this year with game of of thrones theme.

TANDA

I got re-interested in handicrafts after doing a project with GIZ, they do some work on economic development and one of the sectors was the handcraft sector, the project was focused on 2 regions, 1 in the top north and one in the middle south; we did a brief phase of immersion with the women handicrafters and we heard their stories and challenges, a lot of them were illiterate but very ambitious.

2 things that marked me :

1. the amount of knowledge they had about our cultural heritage, but they have no inheritance, as the young generation is not interested in the field as it is not profitable,so you have one master and then when he/she dies the art is dead.