Teachín (Small House)

I’ve been a carpenter for 12 years, and for the last five I’ve been studying permaculture and horticulture. Last year I worked and lived on an organic farm learning how to care for the land. I’m currently living at home in Connemara, County Galway, setting up a market garden. I want to heal the land, and at the same time heal myself. Protecting and improving the health of the environment is an essential part of community, and the educational aspects are just as important as the production and supply of vegetables.

I’m also an Irish (Gaelic) speaker. My native language is important to me and is the primary language in Connemara. I would like to preserve old skills and knowledge by involving the old and young in the process of gardening, having them teach each other while strengthening their connection with nature.

I’ve recently attended AÁE’s pre-unMonastery event, a “Rural Reconnaissance” at Cregg Castle. It’s opened up more possibilities and the support of a network. I understand healing the land and I’m beginning to understand more about how humans heal too! It’s also inspired me to look at my current “tiny home” build with new eyes. Smaller, more mobile.  I love designing, making and the climate of the west of Ireland! Natural materials married with modern solutions also interests me. Old sitting beside new, form in balance with function. Design harmony.

Building, teaching, healing

Hello @Pat , welcome! I have heard much about you from @Nadia , but I only discovered your post today.