TechBlick 03 - Ali [EN]

So my name is Jos and I’m working on research in circular economy and automotive sector. And I would like to know your point of view. If you accept, I’m going to record our conversation, transcribe it and put to transcription with a pseudonym, not your real name, in a depository repository of text documents that will be used for the research. If you do this and you change your mind and no longer want to participate, get in touch with us and we will immediately remove your interview from the repository. I’m leaving you an information sheet with contact information after the interview, so please tell me your name and that you are accept.

I’m Ali Shakeri and I accept.

Thank you. Ali. So the first question, can you tell me a bit about your educational and professional background and interests?

Yes, I’ve been a professor at Purdue and before that at University of California for the last 25 years or so. And my area of research is in the area of smart films with applications in agriculture, food, health care. One of the areas we are working at Purdue is to bring together people from materials, devices, all the way to system integration and applications. We work closely with our application schools in agriculture, in food science, veterinary medicine and so on. And I guess I’m here in order to understand better what are the advances in the field and how we can connect better our researchers to have broader commercial impact.

What is your area of expertise?

The area of expertise at Purdue know I’m representing a Smart consortium, which brings together faculty from materials from electrical mechanical engineering all the way to data analytics, computer science. My own background is in the area of in related to this, in the area of characterization and if in-line characterization of of smart films.

The theme of this conference is the future of Electronics reshaped. What does the idea of reshaping electronics for the future mean to you?