The Weekend Movement in Malaysia

Steve, a friend of mine from the United States is now spending time at Sultan’s (a friend of us) in Malaysia working on a Pashmina business and thus I started keeping an eye upon what’s happening in Malaysia (something I have never done before). My first step into this world was Steve’s exciting blog he started up, the http://seagypsyadventures.com/. This is how I have recently come across this initiative and I think it rocks!

The organizers of the Weekend Movement in Malaysia say they are getting together ‘a community of people building crafty projects and innovative solutions to real world problems over the weekend’.

I am posting this as a mission as I would love to learn about similar initiatives in Europe and if there is anything alike we have over here and that you are also aware of, plse add it as a reply to this mission.

I wonder though what it takes to pull together hundreds of young talented people into a space for a weekend to deliver “time bound collaborative innovation”. Participants with a similar mind and skillset need to go through an application process to enter. Organizers pay a careful attention to selecting people who want to be there to make something happen and not just learn or raise funds.

Sponsors and investors also take part although their identities are not revealed. This is to ensure that ideas get kickstarted and I love that particular component there :slight_smile:

Where could this evolve if the meetups are thematic, if young people start addressing concrete issues and come forward with solutions to real local economic, social, political and cultural challenges? This can easily end up being an awesome way of building our networks, improve our skills and learn from peers right then and there.