What I learned from the Free Culture Incubator

My name is Ela Kagel, I am a freelance curator and producer based in Berlin. For the past two years I have been running the Free Culture Incubator, a workshop series for freelance creatives and cultural workers. This initiative was a collaboration between the transmediale Festival for Art and Digital Culture, and the Governement’s Center of Excellence for the Cultural & Creative Industries. Basically, the Free Culture Incubator was a platform for researching the price and value of freelance creative work. When I started this project in 2010, I was very optimistic that an ongoing series of workshops and debates would help us in understanding more about the economic side of our work. Now, two years later, I have a much better idea why it is so challenging to make a living in the sphere of the free & open:

1. Fuzzy Terminology

There is potentially a vast space for misunderstandings between two people who talk to each other. We all know that. It’s already there if we talk about regular things, like taking care of our kids or how to bake a pie. However, when it comes down to all the fuzzy and grey-zone topics which very often don’t even have a local name, the likelihood of misunderstandings gets bigger and bigger.