Empowering Students

My name is Ronan O Dalaigh,

I am from Dublin Ireland, and I want to tell you about my college society.

The Raising And Giving society (RAG) is a student run society in Dublin City University. Our vision is to see an engaged, able and empowered student body that are active in shaping the future of Ireland.

Myself and a friend started the society in September 2011 and our aim of empowering students has really shaped our year.

Firstly I want to tell you a little about me and then I will explain our society, what we have done so far and what is next!

So, I come from a poor, working-class area of Dublin and I have a lot of views and opinions on everything, from society to politics to the environment. In Ireland people generally don’t discuss major worldwide issues, which is a pity becuase our youth are so intelligent! I’m studying a business degree through the medium of the Irish language. I love the Irish language and culture and it makes me angry and sad that our indigenous language is not our primary one. Someday I believe it will be revived and I hope I live to see that day. I have strong values and I love reading inspiring quotes. Two quotes that I have built my values on are; 1. Consider it the greatest sin, to prefer life to honour, and for the sake of living to lose what makes life worth living for. 2. May the best years of your life be the ones that you are living now. I think that a lack of honour and conviction are one of the biggest problems in Irish society today, something that is very evident in our government! I also think that one should constantly be trying to grow and improve as a human being, always staying open minded, ready to accept that your ideas or opinions may be wrong but also be strong enough to fight for something knowing that you might be wrong but hoping that you will learn. Learning should never stop.