GTF Berlin 25 - Milo [EN]

So my name is Jos and I’m working on research in circular economy and automotive sector, and I would like to know your point of view. If you accept, I’m going to record our conversation, transcribe it and put the transcription with a pseudonym, not with your real name in a repository of text documents that will be used for the research. If we do this and you change your mind later and no longer want to participate, get in touch with us and we will immediately remove your interview from the repository. I’m leaving you on the information sheet with contact information. If you agree with that, then please tell your name and that you agree.

My name is Milo O’Connor and I agree.

Thank you very much, Milo. So the first question, can you define a circular economy in your own words?

Um, so a circular economy. Um, I studied this a little bit last year on my dissertation. I didn’t really finish it, but, um, yeah, it’s, um, primarily the idea of reuse, reusing as much as possible, um, reducing waste as much as possible and then recycling as much as possible. And yeah, sort of the way you would do that. There’s lots of sort of I haven’t studied it for a while, but I know there’s lots of little, um, little channels of um, how to sort of redistribute waste in a fairer way. So instead of basically the primary thing, what I know about it, instead of I can’t remember the name of the waste economy we’ve got now, but there’s a big problem with lots of waste, um, from, um, the, the top, the richest countries, Um, it’s not being recycled properly. There’s lots of waste. It sort of overflows and then sort of when it gets disposed of, it sort of gets sort of transported to, uh, lots of countries in the global south. Um, and then you get lots of problems. Like it can cause cancer, sort of, uh, skin pollution, air pollution, lots of pollution. So I suppose using a circular economy would sort of reduce the amount of waste that goes to the global South. Uh, and y