Home is where your story makes sense

Hi there,

Finding out about your project made me very excited, because I found something that I truly believe it makes sense and it can help Bucharest. And this fits well to my …plans. You see, five months ago I came back (for good) to Bucharest after 7 years spent in Munich. 7 years of scientific endeavour (I did my PhD and worked there for a while), 7 years of socially trying to make sense, in the end 7 years of somewhat failed experiment. Why? Because in the end I figured, no matter how well I spoke the language, no matter how many friends I had, no matter how much beer I drank, I didn’t really belong there, that was not my home, those were not my people. These here are my people. Bucharest is my home.

Yes, Bucharest is loud, yes it is noisy and dusty and rude and maybe sometimes indifferent, but it’s marvellous in its spirit, it’s daunting in its colours and nurturing in its vibrance.

So I came back and I wish to help, do something and put this amazing city on the map so that others can appreciate it the way I do.

My experience in the area of “helping” is not very rich. I was an engineer and I know a lot about aerodynamics of SCRamjets and helicopters, but when it comes to connecting communities or people, I can just trace it back to some literary endeavours where I touched social topics specific to my home and my adoption countries. Since I opened this door, it has become clear to me the engineer clothes don’t really make me (they never did), so I have to walk through it and see what is out there.