Kickstarting the Creative/Cultural Industries track - A short story from Italy

I moved to Milan (Italy) 5 years ago, tired of working in city planning (my background is in architecture) and decided on doing something more creative and with an impact in the society.

My first chance was in a project called CriticalCity Upload, an urban transformation game, that i developed with a  friend (and now a partner in all my professional adventures) @Augusto_Pirovano. We started with a cultural fund, we design and put online the project, we hit some success, and we find a way to keep alive the project for 4 years, instead of 1 (the only funded).

Business model and revenues weren’t a thing to pay attention:

“Who cares, we are having an impact, somewhere we will find a way to survive!”

Our business model became a split one, from one side we were developing games and experiences with impact on people’s lives, mostly based on cultural funding, public tenders with a cyclic trend (design the project / get the fund /realize the project / close the project / wait / starve / design a project /and so on…), on the other side it ended up that our only way to pay the bills was to do consultancy works for companies, some of which we were “fighting” with our social game actions.

Overtime we didn’t properly value (except from the know-how) our previous experiences, and after every project we have to dismantle our small company (and lose amazing people) in order to survive without fixed costs and start again looking for new tenders.

I’m not saying that is only an environmental issue, but it’s hard, especially here, to find a company that can survive, in the cultural field, without a continuous help from the public sector.

Long story short.

Last year we finally decided to move to a business model ticket based:

“Let’s ask the money to the people that already loves us!”

We started an acceleration process and we found some (again private) fund to start our new cultural company.