Coworking has the potential to be a great equalizer

A summary of this post can be found here: Mayur Sontakke - Founder at NomadGao Remote Coliving & Startup advisor

Hello,

I’m Mayur Sontakke. I’m a financial analyst, I started working remotely back in 2014 for a American startup, and because I had the flexibility I spent three, four years traveling within India and Southeast Asia which gave me perspective on the coworking as a concept, because I probably visited 50 or 64 coworking spaces over the span of three, four years.

I advised some coworking coliving companies on their expansion, on their strategy, and also the government of Goa on making Goa more popular among digital nomads. All of my experience came together, and I started a coworking coliving place in Goa last year called NomadGao. It’s in a village not too far from the beach.

I did a lot of research on what people are looking for, what sort of people travel and live in coliving places, or work from coworking spaces, apart from the the first-hand experience that I have had being the coworker myself.

We are a small space. We have about 15 to 20 coworking seats, five or six rooms. It’s fairly manageable without technology. Our focus has been more on human interaction, but once we ended up having double bookings from different platforms, then we said, “Okay, technologically is a must,” even though the scale is small. In fact, the small scale helped us in experimenting with technologies and see what works best.

We use Cobot for the coworking space management, which makes it easy for our customers to sign up and to pay. For the coliving, we are listed on Airbnb. We also are on our own platform. We use general manager, Cloudbeds, which helps us make sure that double bookings won’t happen. The rates and everything goes to different tenants smoothly.