Meet the community: Natalia Skoczylas, Andrew Welch

Read more stories here!

Searching for the meaning/why am I here? - Natalia Skoczylas

It happened sometime in 2012 when my friend Andrei pointed out to me that Edgeryders are looking for good contributions to their online conversation and if I do well, I might meet them in real life. I started reading. Swimming in this ocean of content, ideas, visions, projects, debates - and tried to add a coin to it. It worked. I got to Stockholm and for two days participated in one of the most advanced, socially responsible talks ever - done in a small group of people, mostly doing very informal, very off-the-path things. I liked it.

I’m a political scientist and journalist with a university paper stating that. I am a journalist, freelancing mostly about culture (music, movies, literature) and architecture in the political and social context. This is what I wanted to do for my PhD. The Uni turned out to be too much of a burden for me - random classes to be taught, questions what architecture has to do with politics were just tiring. During my studies I started moving a bit - studies in Iceland opened my cognitive perspectives and fed me with ideas about civil society and cities as political and social phenomena. Then I came back to Lublin, where I used to study and live, and got into the leftist scene: working for a squat, helping out the most interesting NGO, doing cultural jobs, finally writing a lot of things. Academia was giving us time to do many things. And we did it.

I lived in quite some cities, taking various jobs, always seeking for sense and social benefit in them. I always wanted to contribute to something meaningful. I always believed that even the small things I organised, helped with, made myself - would have a value. Money is secondary. Energy is the asset that requires being directed in the right place. Otherwise, you waste your precious time.