Motivate the public to read real books

I am a journalist, I like to read a lot, to write, to walk, to listen to music and to explore the world around me. I am a big dreamer and I want to awaken the desire for dreaming in people. This is why I started my research on the people that read books – based on what books they read. I organized a number of book reading events, during which I was exploring the mentality of participants, as well as finding out the effects of the books on them. Unfortunately, what I found out was that they read mostly materialist and idealist literature. Romanticism is left back in remote era of Renaissance, which is a pity, I think. This book reading initiative that I started unfortunately didn’t have a long life, and I think the reason is that nowadays the youth is totally absorbed in social networks and doesn’t even want to participate in such events. My desire and aim is to awaken the interest towards reading books and to encourage the youth to discuss the books they read, face to face. Ironically young people spend really a lot of time on just random talks and discussions of different issues and ideas on Facebook, but when they get invited to come and talk about those issues personally, in order to find solutions, they often don’t show up. So, my open question to the youth would be – “Dear young people, are you sure it’s a good idea to get totally occupied by the social networks, which are made just for entertainment?”

After the second world war came the era of loneliness and absurd, according to some modern philosophical views, and I share this opinion in a way, based on what I have observed and I keep observing around. Are we ready to rethink some aspects of our modern reality and to maybe conclude that “Those who are not able to feel happy when they are alone cannot be happy.”?

Warning! Reading is dangerous

Youth not being interested in books is a myth