Photographing Nepal Earthquake 2015

After a recent conversation with @Abhinav_Thakur who pointed out a need for a better and more sensitive way of documenting (specially photographing) grief and devastation of the earthquake in Nepal, I asked few of my friends who are involved in the profession and art of photography how this can be done, to which I received some valuable and insightful comments.

I sent everyone one question and then asked few more depending on the response in some cases – the questions are all in bold.

What do you think is a more sensible/appropriate way of photographing the devastation that ensued after earthquake (including during relief work)?

---------------

RISHI AMATYA

“Photographing during a disaster is always challenging task - you have to capture the destruction in a way that speaks about the calamity without belittling the people/community facing its wrath.

I felt it was very tricky for me. I am studying heritage and the loss of the heritage structures were hard for me to bear. It doesn’t mean that I care less about human cost. I do. The loss of human life coupled with the loss of our heritage was too much for me.

So when I photographed the destruction I tried to portray what people lost during the quake. They lost a part of their identity, their cultural sense and for some of them, their livelihood. I tried to photograph that. And, also how the community and the local people mobilized in no time to save people who were buried in the detritus and saving the gods they’ve prayed too all their lives. Sometimes us commoners have to rescue the gods, it seems. I tried to photograph that. And the bonding, and a sense of urgency that was displayed during those chaotic times.