Showers and more: meet DoucheFLUX

The beginning is quite weird ­ it’s usually like that. In another life I’m an artist, and in that life, a decade ago, I have set up Collectif MANIFESTEMENT.

The group’s unique goal is to organize a demonstration once a year and go to the streets with a theme. The matter is usually peculiar, weird or unexpected, and we spend a year, or even longer, preparing the different aspects of the protest.

So, in 2010 we settled upon a subject that addressed the homeless people in Brussels. We did it without them, but for them ­ and invited them to join us. It was the first time we came to know some of this population, and the more discovered and understood about them, the more stories and testimonies we collected about their lives, the less sense it made to just wrap everything up and move on to something new.

One of the follow­ups of this process was a book, in which we gathered and edited short stories from homeless people we’ve met. It was published in both Flemish and French, and it made many institutions hate us, as many people in that book frankly complained about their work.

Ok, we have a bright and pretty broad vision of affairs. Now, what? We had to propose something, and the more I thought of it, the bigger it became in my head. It was overwhelming and ambitions, and I felt I can’t start. That was until I met a woman, who happened to be my former student from the French classes I teach. She was a perfect partner: Flemish, woman, and a businesswoman on top of it. Together we framed the project and made it ripe for implementation in early 2012.