The Reef Community | Belgium is “a country where it’s too much in the DNA to own your own house”

@manuelpueyo and I have known each other for a couple of years, but never had a chance to see each other beyond our professional selves. As we sat down yesterday, I discovered a fellow people pleaser who makes food for their neighbors and coworkers and leaves it on their door (!)
An edited version of our chat below. His words in Italic.

My name is Manuel, I’m a content marketer and strategist. I help my clients define what they are going to say online and how to organise information on their websites. I also run courses on writing for the web I lived in Spain, in Santiago de Compostela where I studied; in Strasbourg (as an Erasmus student); in Warsaw, and for 15 years in Brussels, where I call home.

Tell me about your experience of living with others. How it happened, where, how old were you, how long it lasted.

The first time was at university, at 17 years old. I experienced student flats, the first time I left my parents. I lived in different modalities, the first one was a service that made everything ready for us. I think my parents were afraid I wasn’t able to live in an autonomous way, so they decided to put me here where everything was done for me haha. We even had someone who cooked breakfast for us. It was a luxury student apartment. The second year with a group of friends we moved to another apartment where we had more autonomy. Later in a shared flat, then in a campus with a lot of students in Warsaw.

What would you say was the primary motivation to live with others, at the time?

I think shared costs and sharing life stories. It was about living with friends, living with people we got along well. We shared a lot of conversations in the evenings, we partied together. Life-sharing with friends. It was quite temporary. Each academic year we would think about where we would go next year.