[Interview Transcript] Eric N. Barret, Jumpstart Georgia: How to communicate better?

I’ve been working for JumpStart since 2010, when I first came JumpStart was purely involved with mapping and was called Open Maps Caucasus (OMC), we mapped the entire country. And I was coming from a background recently working with Transparency International Georgia and before that media organizations. When I joined JumpStart it was because of the technology and community approach the organization was involved in; I thought it was brilliant this idea of community mapping.

However, when I joined the mapping came to an end, and JumpStart sort of was in a crisis mode. We had all this capacity, technical capacity, but we didn’t know what to do. We weren’t funded to do mapping. We had a pretty long transition period for about a year and a half. We worked from project to project to make ends meet, which I hated, because I don’t think organizations should exist to put food on people’s table. An NGOs job is to put itself out of business.

A lot of the old staff left. During the mapping period we had around 1000 people, directly or through community involvement, to rely on and we went down to 5 or 6 people. Which was interesting.

But in 2012 this idea popped into my head. This was the result of mapping. Mapping is the ultimate form of visualization. It is easy to see a map that has massive amount of data in small place and you are able to interpret it and make decisions based on that information. And I don’t know a lot of visuals that can have that level of complexity and be that intuitive for people to understand. So I started thinking about other ways and other environments in which visualizations could have an impact. At this time I came across some data journalism blogs.