Intro - Phloem

Like the system in plants the project is named after, phloem will help control the transfer and storage of energy. As our grid becomes more decentralised, with more people capable of producing and storing energy we need a decentralised way of managing it.

Building a protocol and hardware that form a decentralised system that is secure, user friendly and can interact well with the grid is tall order. But we have to start somewhere.

To start with I’m going to be trying to talk to people using microgrids currently, NGOs, scientists etc, about their use cases and needs. I’ll also be talking to decentralised protocol developers to get insight into developing the right protocol.

Ideally I would use the most suitable protocol to build some prototypes to do user testing with.

About me: Currently employed as a site reliability engineer, I have good insight into protocols and hardware and also a strong belief in user centred design. I also enjoy hanging out on ssb.

Hi @eb4890 and welcome. Are you documenting your work somewhere? Is this at the idea stage, or further along?

Hi @Hugi, thanks for the welcome.

Very much the idea stage. I plan to create a dat website at some point soonish.

Interesting topic :slight_smile: I remember I once put together an idea collection / design outline for a “village grid” system for Nepal. Not exactly your usecase of things connected to the national grid, as I don’t believe in anything beyond local P2P grids. It’s rather something “very self-manageable” for a remote village setting, using SELV technology and a kind of household-level “energy router”. Which would employ a supply-and-demand matching and demand planning protocol similar to what you seem to have in mind.

(If you are interested in more details, I could try to find my notes again.)