Prague is great, there's nothing much to improve here

The second person I found in Cafe Sladkovsky was a young freelancer, 27-year-old Peter, who votes rather left and works as a journalist/event manager in Prague. As with the previous interview, I tried to get people to point out some main issues - and while Jan had quite round political opinions, they both seemed to be just… fine with how things are, in a way. Or resigned? Can’t point exactly what is the challenge here, but the little Czechs I had a chance to talk to would just accept the situation they way it is to some extent, do not feel terribly empowered to shake things up and make them easier. Anyway, off to what Peter told us :slight_smile:

What do you do, what do you like to do in your life?

I am a huge traveler: I lived in Sydney, London, ¨and I am really into music like punk rock, grunge. I studied journalism. I only partly work as a journalist - mostly, we organize congresses for doctors, I am an event manager, organizing these things. But still I am at a junior position

Since when have you been living in Prague?

I got back four months ago, I feel great here. I have traveled a lot, but I really love Prague. There are a lot of great things here: public transportation, lots of parks, it is much more multicultural than it was, everyone speaks English, a lot Americans or Argentinians live here now, I have a flatmate from California.

And how is the job market in Prague?

I got back those 4-5 months ago, and it is really great, and I am not saying this because I have a national pride or anything, but there are just so many events, concerts, you have the freedom to drink your beer in the street, it just feels very free here.

How about the rents?

Not surprising for capital, but I can afford to live in the center of the city, not alone, but I can, unlike in London

So, what is not working in Czechia, is there something?