TANDA: Preservation and modernisation of the African handicrafts heritage

Hello everyone !

I’m Sofien Dahem from Tunisia, industrial designer and self-taught illustrator and as you know part of the OpenVillage experience in Sidi Kaouki.

The Inspiration

Right after my master, I worked with The GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit ) as a junior design consultant in a project of “REHABILITATION OF THE HANDICRAFTS ACTIVITIES IN TUNISIA” and as a first sector they focused on the weaving ancestral technics . So we went to two regions EL KEF wich is in the north and GAFSA in the south , we did workshops for the women handcrafters on marketing , branding and an initiation to product design so they develop the habit of innovation…
Afterwards we co-conceived a new collection of products that transfigure these technics into creative products dedicated to the international market, and we got such a good feedback when we exhibited them in the Tunisian international handcrafts show.

This experience shifted my way of thinking about product design which was more industrial targeted due to my university studies.
I sensed how all of the African continent has this huge cultural heritage that is endangered due to the fact that it is not well represented or used .
And that’s when TANDA came in, which means “ Diversity “ in Tamazight language this project of mine was birthed in the tunisian handicrafts show where I exhibited my first product wich was a new jewelry design that uses the ancestral AMAZIGH weaving technics mixed with copper and silver , something that was never done in Tunisia before. This work was done with two women handcrafters that I got to know when I was working with the GIZ.

And from that I carried on to giving my project this mission : “ PRESERVATION AND MODERNISATION OF THE AFRICAN HANDICRAFTS HERITAGE” to make this sector one of the main pillars of the African economical empowerment.

How?