Andrew Welch

Hi, I am Andrew. My journey started when I enjoyed making  stuff, using computers and being outdoors as a child. I studied BSc Environment, Economics and Ecology at York University and spent a lot of time there exploring the surrounding countryside by mountain bike, participating in races and mountain bike groups. I started a design business designing and printing t-shirts which promoted sustainable and progressive living. I then worked as a mountain bike guide in Croatia (Korcula). Returning to the UK I worked for a network company as an engineer, web developer and graphic designer. I then prepared to cycle round the world. Between 2007 and 2010 I cycled from England to Georgia, then to India, lived in Georgia and travelled to and cycled in Mongolia. I returned to the UK and studied MA Design Critical Practice at Goldsmiths. I wrote two books about my cycle travels (Weave of the Ride | Between Worlds). I invented Wandermap which is a theory and project around psychogeography (including a guidebook called 'The Open Wilderness Guiding Book). My dissertation was a skill sharing app called Wequest. I have a website of ‘methods’ (design, research, etc) that I would like to open up to the Edgeryders community. I worked for a design startup called Stromatolite which created the Music Tech Fest Brand and Open Product Licenses. I worked for Viacom at MTV in Camden as a developer. Most recently I became Technical Coordinator of Joya - Arte + Ecología in Almeria, Spain and I also work on Georiders which is a mountain bike tour company and community in Tbilisi, Georgia. This is my personal website. I am interested in Edgeryders because I am impressed with the scope of the project and I hope to be able to contribute. 

1 Like

So welcome!

Hello Andrew, welcome to Edgeryders. I am Alberto, and this is my own story.